October 17 — 21, 2018, Key West, Florida, USA

Tenth International Conference on Charged Particle Optics


We are pleased to announce that the tenth International Conference on Charged Particle Optics, CPO-10, hosted by Michigan State University, will take place in Key West, Florida, USA, from October 17 to 21, 2018.

The series of conferences on charged particle optics evolved from the realization that there is great overlap in techniques and tools among three until then somewhat separate communities using charged particle optics techniques: The fields of accelerator optics, spectrometer optics, and electron optics. Beginning in 1980, the first three meetings in the series were organized by Hermann Wollnik, Karl Brown, and Peter Hawkes, each a representative of one of these fields. Since then, the CPO conferences have continued their role as a bridge between these disciplines, and a total of nine conferences on Charged Particle Optics have been held:

1980 Giessen, Germany
1986 Albuquerque, NM, USA
1990 Toulouse, France
1994 Tsukuba, Japan
1998 Delft, Netherlands
2002 College Park, MD, USA
2006 Cambridge, England
2010 Singapore
2014 Brno, Czech Republic

Now nearly four decades after the first meeting, it is clear that the formula is as attractive as ever. In the spirit of continuing to bridge three related fields, we are now launching the tenth CPO conference, which will showcase a balanced program with much original material in each of the three areas. We welcome you to Key West and look forward to meeting all of you at the conference.

Deadlines and Dates

Registration Deadline: August 1, 2018
Abstract Submission Deadline: August 1, 2018
Hotel Discount Deadline: September 1, 2018
Meeting: October 17 (morning) to October 21 (around noon), 2018
Paper Submission Deadline: February 1, 2019 (IJMPA). April 1, 2019 (AIEP)

Scientific Advisory Board

Martin Berz, Michigan State University, USA
Peter Hawkes, Toulouse, France
Georg Hoffstaetter, Cornell University, USA
Anjam Khursheed, Natl. Univ. of Singapore
Ondrej Krivanek, Nion, Kirkland, USA
Pieter Kruit, TU Delft, Netherlands
Ilona Müllerová, ISI, Brno, Czech Republic
Eric Munro, MEBS, London, UK
Yoichi Ose, Hitachi High Tech., Ibaraki, Japan
Tomáš Radlička, ISI, Brno, Czech Republic
Harald Rose, University of Ulm, Germany
Gerd Schönhense, University of Mainz, Germany
Weishi Wan, ShanghaiTech University, China
Martin Winkler, GSI, Darmstadt, Germany
Hermann Wollnik, New Mexico State University, USA

Local Organizing Committee

Martin Berz, MSU (Chair)
Kyoko Makino, MSU
Pavel Snopok, IIT

Local Organizing Team

David Tarazona, Eremey Valetov, Adrian Weisskopf, MSU
Kazuko Fuchi, U Dayton
Akiko Yamamoto, Yuko Yamamoto, Cocokarafine