Kyoko Makino and Martin Berz

R. E. Moore Prize for

Applications of Interval Analysis

The R.E. Moore Prize for Applications of Interval Analysis honors Ramon (Ray) Moore, who originated much of the work on interval methods and over a long distinguished  career tirelessly fostered  their development.


The Moore prize is expected to be awarded biannually. The current list of awards are as follows:



2002: Warwick Tucker, for the rigorous proof of the existence of the strange attractor of the Lorenz equation. Formulated as one of the most important problems in nonlinear chaotic dynamics, it is known as Steven Smale’s fourteenth  problem for the 21st century.  


2004: Thomas C. Hales, for the proof of the Kepler conjecture about the densest arrangement of spheres in space. Posed by Kepler in 1611 and partially solved by Gauss in 1831, it became the eighteenth of  the collection of Hilbert’s problems for the 20th century.


2006: (not awarded)


2008: Kyoko Makino and Martin Berz, for the development of novel high performance rigorous self-verified integrators for flows of  ODEs based on Taylor model and differential algebraic methods. Some current applications of the methods include proving stability of large particle accelerators, dynamics of flows in the solar system,  and computer assisted proofs in hyperbolic dynamics.